We are offering housing options and support services for individuals with intellectual disabilities and autistic disorders living in Maine. Shared Living is supported by the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) through the MaineCare program (Section 21 and Section 29, Home and Community-Based Waiver Services) as one of the least restrictive and most cost effective options of home support services available in Maine.

Shared-living offers a home environment for consumers to live while they receive the necessary support to be successful. Under this model, the consumer becomes part of the family with a consistent, stable environment where they can thrive and grow with community inclusion.

We are seeking both consumers and providers in Maine to help grow this program at our agency. We then match consumers to providers available in specific areas. The Providers’ skills must meet the needs of the consumer to become a match.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • 18 years of age or older
  • Active MaineCare
  • Diagnosed with an Intellectual, Developmental Disabilities and or Autism
  • Must be receiving adult case management services
  • Must be eligible for Section 21 or 29 MaineCare services through DHHS

Providers must meet the requirements of OADS as follows:

  • Successfully pass background checks as required by the MaineCare Benefits Manual. All other adult household members (18 years or older) who live full or part-time in the home and/or who will provide support and/or transportation to the individual must also pass background checks.
  • Successfully pass a home safety inspection conducted by an Administrative Oversight Agency to assure the home meets all health and safety environmental standards according to the MaineCare Benefits Manual and DHHS-OADS.
  • Ensure that their home meets local housing codes. The Provider will submit a copy of the initial home inspection findings to the Oversight Agency.
  • Verify he/she has time to provide daily services/supports which meet the needs of the individual and is willing to work towards the goals the team has identified in the Person-Centered Plan.
  • Have a high school diploma or GED and a valid Maine driver’s license.
  • Become DSP certified
  • Attend Reportable events training

We provide Shared Living Support Services in Franklin, Somerset, Kennebec, Androscoggin, and Waldo Counties.